New Malaysia Visa Policies: What Travellers Need To Know

Uncover the visa options and application processes for exploring Malaysia’s wonders or pursuing employment opportunities. From tourist visas to employment passes, we cover it all to help you navigate this captivating Southeast Asian nation’s extensive visa options.

Malaysia is known for its rich cultural heritage, stunning landscapes, and vibrant cities, has recently introduced new visa policies that aim to simplify and enhance the process for international travellers and workers. These new policies open up exciting opportunities to explore the country’s diverse attractions for tourists and work opportunities for those planning to work in the country.

Malaysia’s new visa policies reflect the government’s commitment to attracting more tourists, business travelers, investors, and workers. These policies streamline and modernize the visa application process, making it easier and more convenient for travellers to visit and explore the country. The changes have been designed to encourage tourism, boost economic growth, and strengthen international relations.

This blog will introduce the new visa policies for a Malaysia tourist visa and Malaysian work visa types and the benefits they offer to visitors.

Types of Malaysia Visas

Types of Malaysia Visa

The government of Malaysia issues three types of visas to foreign nationals.

Single-Entry Visa

This visa is ideal for foreign nationals who need to visit for social purposes. It typically lasts for three months following the issuance date and is normally valid for single entry.

Multiple-Entry Visa

Foreign nationals who need a visa to enter the country primarily for business or government-to-government relations are given this type of visa. It is normally valid for 3-12 months from the date of issue.

Applicants for the Multiple-Entry Visa must be holders of Indian or the People’s Republic of China passports who wish to go to Malaysia for social purposes. The validity of the Multiple-Entry Visa is one year. Each entry is for 30 days only, and an extension of stay is considered illegal.

Transit Visa

Foreign nationals who require a visa to enter the nation while traveling to another country are provided this type of visa. A transit visa is not necessary for foreign nationals traveling in transit as long as they stay inside the airport grounds and take the same flight to their final destination.

Online Visa Application for Malaysia Tourist Visa

Currently, the government of Malaysia allows visa-free entry for foreign nationals from 70 different countries. Passport holders from these countries can visit Malaysia for a social visit for 30-90 days, depending on their nationality.

Most foreign nationals who wish to travel and enter Malaysia must acquire visas from an embassy or consulate, or through an eVisa application.

Under its new visa policies, Malaysia has introduced an electronic online visa system, making the application process simpler and more accessible. Passport holders from 10 different countries are eligible for online or eVisa applications. The online system offers a user-friendly interface, clear instructions, and faster processing time, allowing travelers to plan their trips with ease.

Once approved, the eVisa will be sent to applicants by email. An approved Malaysian online tourist visa allows a stay of up to 30 consecutive days and a valid entry to Malaysia for three months from the day of eVisa issuance.

Nationals who do not hold passports from these countries must acquire a Malaysia tourist visa from an embassy or consulate. Once approved, they can tour the country in 14-30 days.

Malaysia Work Visa Types

Work Visa

Malaysia requires various work visa types for foreign nationals who wish to enter the country for work or work assignments. These visa types are designed to cater to different categories of foreign workers based on their intended duration of stay, skills, and employment arrangements. Here are some of the common Malaysia work visa types:

Employment Pass (EP)

The Employment Pass is intended for foreign professionals, managers, executives, and highly skilled workers employed by a Malaysian company. The EP is typically granted to individuals with specialized knowledge, expertise, or experience in their respective fields. There are three categories of Employment Pass: EP I, EP II, and EP III, each with different salary and qualification criteria.

Temporary Employment Pass (PLKS)

The Temporary Employment Pass, also known as the Pas Lawatan Kerja Sementara (PLKS), is issued for temporary employment in Malaysia. It is granted to foreign workers in sectors such as manufacturing, construction, agriculture, and services. The PLKS is usually valid for a specific contract period or up to five years, depending on the industry.

Professional Visit Pass (PVP)

The Professional Visit Pass is issued to foreign professionals employed by an overseas company but temporarily assigned to work in Malaysia. This visa allows foreign professional workers to engage in jobs such as technical assistance, consultation, or training for up to 12 months.

Residence Pass–Talent (RP-T)

The Residence Pass–Talent is aimed at attracting highly skilled foreign professionals and individuals with exceptional talents to work and reside in Malaysia. This pass is granted to individuals who meet specific criteria, such as having specialised expertise, professional achievements, or being recruited by a company under Malaysia’s Talent Corporation.

Malaysia My Second Home (MM2H) Programme

While not strictly a work visa, the Malaysia My Second Home (MM2H) Programme allows foreign nationals to reside in Malaysia on a long-term basis. Participants in this program are eligible to work part-time or start their own businesses. MM2H is primarily designed for retirees, but is also open to individuals who meet the eligibility requirements.

It’s worth noting that the specific requirements, application procedures, and eligibility criteria for each work visa type may vary. The Malaysian government and relevant authorities oversee these visas, and it’s advisable to consult with the Immigration Department or engage the services of an immigration consultant or legal expert for accurate and up-to-date information regarding work visas in Malaysia.

Malaysia’s new visa policies mark an exciting chapter in the country’s efforts to welcome and engage with international travelers and workers. As Malaysia welcomes foreign nationals with open arms, these new policies promise to strengthen the nation’s position as a top destination for tourism, trade, and investment. Whether you seek vibrant city experiences, pristine natural wonders, immersive cultural encounters, or relocate to the country for work, these new visa policies make it easier than ever to enter Malaysia.


1.  Which foreign nationals are eligible for a Malaysia tourist online/eVisa?

Passport holders from these countries are eligible for a Malaysia tourist online/eVisa:

  • Serbia
  • Montenegro
  • The People’s Republic of China
  • Nepal
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • Myanmar
  • Sri Lanka
  • India
  • Pakistan

2. Can nationals from these countries acquire a visa on arrival?

The Malaysian government grants visas on arrival only to passport holders of India and the People’s Republic of China. The visa processing fee is $100 US and comes with a social visit pass for only seven days.

3. Which country (ies) whose citizens are not allowed entry to Malaysia?

Citizens from the state of Israel are not allowed entry to Malaysia, while 160 other foreign nationals can apply for visas at an embassy or consulate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *